Sunday, February 17, 2013

Music Break

Here are a few bands for your listening and viewing pleasure. I have pulled these videos from the video link on the site, as the video link will no longer be a part of site navigation. Rather than delete these videos into the youtube soup, I have reposted the videos here. Look for more music video posts each Sunday to help you mentally prepare for the week ahead.

Each group below offers fresh ideas in the modern music scene. I have provided background information and links to each. Dig in.

Department of Eagles: "No One Does it Like You" - This track is perfection. Reminiscent of old 1920s ballads while remaining rooted in indie traditions. 

Band Home Page:

Bio: "Department of Eagles began in 2000, when New York University assigned freshmen Fred Nicolaus and Daniel Rossen to share a room. To pass the time during an uneventful spring semester, the two began making music together, collecting samples and turning them into songs using pirated software and a microphone borrowed from their neighbor Chris Taylor (who, years later, would become Daniel's bandmate in Grizzly Bear and DoE's producer/engineer). Somewhat accidentally the group was discovered by a California label and the material recorded in this period was combined with later studio sessions to form Department of Eagles' 2003 debut, The Cold Nose. It gained a small but enthusiastic audience and was praised by critics from the San Francisco Bay Guardian to the London Times."

Grizzly Bear: "Ready, Able" : This etherial track hits many interesting themes. Reminiscent of Jens Leckman, Daniel Rossens' open vocal style reverberates through the open chords of the guitar. At once melancholy and hopeful.

Band Home Page:

Bio: "Grizzly Bear began as a moniker for songwriter Ed Droste's music in the early 2000s.
In 2004, Droste released Grizzly Bear's debut album, Horn of Plenty. Predominately a solo album the album featured contributions from future drummer Christopher Bear. Rolling Stone magazine wrote of the first album that "The pure atmospheric power of the songs is more than enough to hypnotize." Droste and Bear were subsequently joined by bass guitarist and producer Chris Taylor, and performed four shows together as a three-piece."

OK GO: "This Too Will Pass": Great pop song, an anthemic call to take it all in stride. This song stands out for the one-take Rube Goldberg machine that syncs in-time with the musical cues. This video is like pop music meets MythBusters crossed with PBS's 1980s cult science show 3-2-1 Contact.

Version 2

Band Home Page:

Wiki Bio: "An American alternative rock band originally from Chicago, Illinois, but now residing in Los Angeles, California. The band is composed of Damian Kulash (lead vocals, guitar), Tim Nordwind (bass guitar and vocals), Dan Konopka (drums and percussion) and Andy Ross (guitar, keyboards and vocals), who joined them in 2005, replacing Andy Duncan. They are perhaps best known for their often elaborate and quirky music videos."

"The original members formed as OK Go in 1998 and released two studio albums before Duncan's departure. The band's video for "Here It Goes Again" won a Grammy Award for "Best Short-Form Music Video" in 2007."

Timber Timbre: "Bad Ritual": This band artfully recalls the blues madness of Screamin' Jay Hawkins... a creepy cacophony of folk, roots, ballads, indie, and horror music.

Band Home Page:

Wiki Bio: "A Canadian folk music project, featuring Taylor Kirk, Simon Trottier and Mika Posen. The moniker refers to an early series of recordings made in a timber-framed cabin set in the wooded outskirts of Bobcaygeon, Ontario."

"Timber Timbre released two albums independently before releasing a self-titled album on Out of This Spark in January 2009. They were subsequently signed to Arts & Crafts, who re-released the album on June 30 in Canada and July 28 internationally.[1] The album was named as a longlist nominee for the 2009 Polaris Music Prize on June 15, 2009,[2] and was deemed album of the year by Eye Weekly."

"The band's song "Magic Arrow" was featured in the television show Breaking Bad, in the episode "Caballo Sin Nombre", as well as in the TV series The Good Wife, in the episode "Bitcoin for Dummies". "Black Water" features on the soundtrack for the 2012 comedy, For a Good Time, Call... "

"On June 16, 2011, the band's fourth album Creep On Creepin' On was named as a longlisted nominee for the 2011 Polaris Music Prize. On July 6, the album was named as a short listed (one of ten) nominee for the 2011 award."

Vadoinmessico: "Pond": Thick rhythms lay at the heart of Vadoimessico's sound (loosely translates to "I go to Mexico"). Great blend of soca, ska, indie, Spanish folk, and shoe-gaze. This band remains under the radar in the US, but demand a deeper listen.

Band Home Page:

SoundCloud Bio: "Vadoinmessico are a 5 piece band from several corners of the Earth residing in London and playing beautiful, nostalgic psychedelic freak-folk. Giorgio (from Italy), Salvador (from Mexico) started the band and were soon joined by banjo player Stefan (from Austria) and Alessandro (also Italian), and their English drummer Joe."


  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  2. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.